Accidents happen, and when they do, you want to be sure that you are prepared for the worst. The good news is that the right car insurance coverage can ease your words and provide you with peace of mind. Understanding car insurance laws in your state can help you protect yourself and your family should the unexpected happen. Our team discusses more below.

Minimum Requirements for Colorado Drivers

Every state has its own requirements when it comes to car insurance. In Colorado, all drivers must have the minimum liability coverage in the following amounts:

  • Bodily injury coverage of $25,000 per person. This covers the costs of injury to another person should you be found responsible for an accident.
  • Bodily injury coverage has a total maximum per accident of $50,000. Again, this covers the cost of injury-related expenses per accident, should you be found liable.
  • Personal property damage of up to $15,000. This will cover property damage done to another person’s vehicle if you cause an accident.

It’s important to carefully consider the amount of liability coverage that you want added to your policy. Oftentimes, the minimum liability amounts are not enough to cover the total damages caused in a more serious auto accident. Make sure to review your policy carefully and determine what you can afford when choosing your liability limits.

Optional Add-Ons to Your Car Insurance Policy

Keep in mind that the minimum liability coverage only covers damages that other people incur as a result of an accident that you cause. If you or your passengers also sustain damages in an accident that you cause, you are on the hook for the expenses out of pocket. The good news is that there other types of coverage that can protect you further:

  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM). This helps cover the costs of medical expenses and other damages should you be hit by a driver without insurance or one that lacks sufficient insurance to cover your total damages.
  • Collision Coverage. This covers the costs of damage to your vehicle if you hit objects, such as a fire hydrant, a wall, or another vehicle.
  • Comprehensive Coverage. This covers damages caused by events other than accidents, such as theft, extreme weather, natural disasters, or wildlife.
  • Medical Payments (Med Pay, or MPC). This helps cover a portion of your medical expenses that result from an auto accident, specifically those involving head trauma.
Need Assistance Filing a Claim? Get Help Today

Being injured in a car accident can be traumatic enough. You shouldn’t have to worry about all the paperwork and deadlines associated with filing a claim with an insurance company that most likely prioritizes its own profits overpaying out claims.

Oftentimes, Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage in Denver Colorado and the way in which it applies to motor vehicle claims are an unknown and confusing aspect of insurance policies. Today’s article will answer some common questions regarding UM and UIM coverage.

So what exactly is UM and UIM Coverage? Colorado law requires every automobile owner in Colorado to maintain insurance on their vehicle. However, this does not necessarily mean that every individual follows that legal requirement. If a person does not have car insurance and causes a motor vehicle accident they will be deemed “Uninsured Motorists.” Furthermore, if the driver who caused an accident is insured, but does not have enough coverage to pay for all of the injuries caused in the accident they are deemed an “Under-Insured Motorist.”

Now that we have discussed the basic definitions of an uninsured and underinsured driver, what happens if you are injured by an Uninsured or Under-Insured driver? If you carry UM or UIM coverage on your personal auto insurance policy, you can utilize that coverage in a situation where the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance, or does not have enough insurance.

In Colorado, unlike many states, insurance companies are required to sell Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Insurance as part of every policy sold unless the coverage is specifically refused in writing. UM/UIM coverage “steps into the shoes” of the at-fault driver and pays you the same kind of damages you could have recovered from the at-fault driver’s insurance had the driver been insured.

If you have rejected UM/UIM coverage on your personal policy you should always check the policies of people who you are living with. UM/UIM insurance coverage may be available to pay your claim if any resident in your household owns a car that has UM/UIM coverage regardless of whether you were occupying the car at the time of the accident. In fact, your uninsured motorist coverage will even cover you if you are a pedestrian or bicycle rider hit by an uninsured or under insured driver.

If you have been injured in a motor vehicle accident by an individual who is uninsured or under-insured, you have a right to make a claim through your personal auto policy under your UM/UIM coverage clause. If your insurance company refuses to promptly and/or fairly pay your claim you may have grounds to file a bad faith insurance action against them. Your insurance company may be acting in “Bad Faith” if they fail to:

  • Promptly investigate your claim
  • Promptly pay your claim
  • Communicate regularly with you regarding the status of your claim
  • Promptly pay you any undisputed portion of claim
  • Provide a prompt and reasonable explanation of any claim denial or offer compromise settlement

If your insurance company has acted in bad faith on your claim you may also be entitled to interest on those benefits, attorney fees, costs of filing a lawsuit against the insurance company, punitive damages (damages designed to punish the insurance company for their wrongful behavior), and other damages.

Colorado Gov. John Hickenlooper on Wednesday released broad plans to foster growth in the state’s already booming electric vehicle market, saying he believes the keys to economic development and cleaner air lie — at least in part — outside of the internal combustion engine.

“They say it takes a village,” Hickenlooper told reporters while flanked by a host of electric vehicles in downtown Denver. “Really, it takes a lack of silos to get an electric vehicle framework in place. … I think it really does a great job of capturing Colorado’s vision that we are going to have a network of fast-charging stations, we’re going to be able to address what’s sometimes referred to as ‘range anxiety.’ ”

The plan, which largely encompasses previous state electric-vehicle initiatives, calls for public-private partnerships to build out the state’s electric vehicle charging infrastructure, provide a consistent refueling system across the state and Rocky Mountain West and build new relationships to bolster investment in infrastructure.

It also calls for updating road signage so electric vehicle owners know where fast-charging stations are.

While a timeline for the goals was not shared, Hickenlooper said the original goal was to have a network of charging stations built in five years. (Colorado already has 53 fast-charging stations but could need up to 632 under a high-growth scenario, according to the plan.)

Colorado ranks in the nation’s top 10 states for electric vehicle market share and the number of electric vehicles per capita. As of August 2017, there were more than 11,000 electric vehicles in the state, and one estimate says Colorado could have nearly 1 million electric vehicles on the road come 2030.

Colorado has already been working toward becoming a more electric-vehicle friendly state.

Over the summer, the governor announced he and the governors of several nearby states were working toward building a network thousands of miles long of fast-charging stations along several interstate highways so that people could charge long distances without fear of running out of power.

Also, Colorado decided to commit millions of dollars of the nearly $70 million it received as part of Volkswagen’s emissions-cheating scandal settlement toward constructing charging stations.

Many people who suffer personal injuries in car accidents hesitate to call to get legal counsel. After seeking immediate medical care, your personal injury lawyer in Denver Colorado should explore all available insurance coverage. If you’re not at fault, the at-fault driver’s insurance should cover your losses. But what if your injury is so serious the other insurance can’t cover all of the bills or the other driver failed to maintain insurance coverage?

Liability insurance is important because you don’t want to be fined or ticketed for failing to have insurance at the scene of an accident you caused. But shouldn’t the other person’s insurance cover everything if you suffer an injury as a result of an auto accident? No, not necessarily.

When you find a personal injury attorney, he or she can help you with specifics of your case and work with insurance companies to make sure you have the time to get the medical care you need. However, if you waived Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist insurance and the at-fault driver’s insurance is insufficient to cover your costs, you might end up with unpaid medical bills, unresolved injuries, and nowhere to turn for help.

When you’re injured in an automobile accident, there are a number of insurance questions that come into play. The first, and probably most important for auto accident injuries, before lawyers for car accidents even come into the picture, is whose fault is the accident? Luckily, regardless of whose fault it is, if you chose to keep Medpay coverage, your treatment related to the accident can be covered up to a specific dollar amount.

Medpay is a special type of no-fault insurance, which means it’s available to you regardless of whose fault an accident is. Even if the accident isn’t your fault, the involved insurance companies may wait a while to decide liability on your injury claim, which leaves those injured in auto accidents relying on their personal insurance to fund necessary medical care. Lawyers for car accidents can sometimes find pathways to help injured people fund care while liability is being decided but one of the best ways to avoid difficult questions during the healing process is to maintain Medical Pay Coverage (“Medpay”).

Many people who haven’t gotten into treatment related to car accident injury don’t realize what a valuable resource Medpay is. Simply put, it is the best recourse for auto accident injury with the exception of an experienced lawyer. Medpay probably won’t cover all of your health expenses but it’s money the insurance company will pay out for your treatment without looking at fault. That’s important, especially when your injury is catastrophic and your attorney is the only person you can turn to who’s guaranteed to be on your side. In that situation, a guaranteed benefits paid to your medical providers can make a huge difference. Should you waive Medpay coverage? Absolutely not.